New Board

For refugees from MyWay and Tek Board II, and for anyone else wishing to participate.

Old Phone for Home Security

sinister_midget
    Admin

Old Phone for Home Security

Post  sinister_midget on Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:10 am

To start this off, I thought I'd post something most or all of us need.

Did you know you can use old Android phones for home-based cameras? You can. I've been doing it for a couple of years.

There is absolutely no need for the phone to be on an active voice account any more. So when you get a new phone, rather than try to find a way to dispose of it, throw it in a drawer or whatever, use it for security of your premises. For free!

All it needs is a battery that isn't totally dead, a working camera and connection to your own wifi. (If you don't have wifi, that's dead simple to set up for something like this, but it's a separate issue I may bring up another time.) You'll need the wifi to connect to your gmail account - which can be used on multiple phones, tablets, whatever at the same time - and to send signals and show you pictures remotely.

There are several apps out there that can do this. The one I use is called Alfred (it looks to be discontinued or renamed, though I still have it installed), but I tested a few others that were just as good. You set it up on the old phone as a camera, then set it up on another phone or tablet as a viewer with both on the same account. Most of them have the ability to at least see a little in the dark (if the camera phone is able to do it) and turn the flash on for light (again, depends on whether the old phone has flash). With notifications turned on, any movement in front of that camera automatically sends a signal to my viewer device which tells me somebody is moving around. They get connected through the same email account, which is a reason wifi is needed. The other reason being that it can't work as a security camera unless it has a way to send pictures to a viewer.